Undergraduate Honors & Awards

Congratulations to our undergraduate students, who continue to distinguish themselves both within and beyond our Department.

Carol Eastman Scholarship Fund

Honors the memory of Carol Eastman, a Senior Vice President and Executive Vice Chancellor and Professor of Anthropology at the University of Hawai'i.

  • 2012 - Avalon Coley, Zach Hannah, Linda Kozen
  • 2010 - Damion Sailors
  • 2008 - Neal Akatsuka
  • 2007 - Eun Ah Hong, Peter Engler

For more information about the Carol Eastman Scholarship Fund and to apply, click here.

Jocelyn Armstrong Award

Awarded to an undergraduate student by professor nomination for showing the most promise in his or her academic work and commitment to the field of Anthropology in Culture & Humanity (ANTH 152). [link to pdf flyer]

  • 2010 - Maegan Ochoa
  • 2007 - Tanya Ferreira

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest academic honorary society in the nation, seeks to recognize undergraduate academic excellence in the liberal arts and sciences. Each year a small number of students are offered membership based on superior achievement.

  • 2007 - Alohalani Marie Brown, Bradley Burkett, Meghan Millard, David Strauch
  • 2008 - Neal Akatsuka, Daniel J. Simmons
  • 2009 - Amanda Landis
  • 2010 - Darby Brown, Steven Heritage, Katherine Sakado
  • 2011 - Lori Harting, Gloria Hong, Andrew Lau, Marah Paley, Kamakana C. Ferreira
  • 2012 - Linda Kosen, Maegan Ochoa, Damion Sailors
  • 2013 - Emma Ching, Avalon Coley, Nicole Simon, Jacob Vandor, Jane Wiegand

For more information about Phi Beta Kappa, visit their website here.